I decided to try some non-copper poison, something from Pettit called Ultima Eco. See how it works. I imagine I’ll find out eventually.

First coat, thinned 25%:

BottomPaint_Blue
Second coat, a different color so that I can tell when it’s been ablating too long:

BottomPaint_Red
Third coat will be a repeat of number two.

Having quite a bit of experience with epoxy, and knowing that exposure to it can, over enough time, cause serious health problems for anyone who doesn’t take precautions, I treated my use of anti-fouling paint with even more caution, wearing the full space suit get up: tyvek coveralls with hood and boots, nitrile gloves, goggles and organic vapor mask. I don’t know if the hazards are exaggerated, like many of the “new” warnings about products that been around for decades seem to be, but I know I felt better. Some other folks in the yard, also applying bottom paint, were not wearing any of that stuff, not even gloves. Were they taking a risk? Darned if I know.

I figure that there are enough dangers out there about which I can do absolutely nothing, that going to a bit of extra trouble to minimize a risk that I can do something about is a moderately good idea.

I don’t wear a helmet when I ride my bike (bicycle) however. There are limits.

