Stepping the mast turned out great. Jason from Aloft Marine (Link) provided expert assistance, as did the folks from the boatyard. No fingers got squished, no one fell in the water and no cussing was heard. The shrouds were attached loosely to steady the mast. After returning to the marina slip, I attached the stays and tightened all the turnbuckles, using the measurements I had taken before disassembling the rig in San Diego. I’ll of course check the tuning of the rig properly before and during the first opportunity to do some sailing.
MastStepped_A
After all that, I was feeling pretty good… which is usually a sign that something not so good is about to happen. A while later, while leaning over the stern to disconnect the battery from the electric outboard, I heard the dreaded “plop” — that disturbing sound of something non-trivial landing in the water. Turning to look, I saw my cell phone slowly receding, leaf-like, into the depths, where Davy Jones will no doubt use it to call me up and inform me what an idiot I am. On a positive note, now no one can call me when I’m working on the boat. 🙂

